Skip to content
RKRupesh Kumar
Tech Hub
GuideTechnology Architecture

Network Licensing Decoded: Cisco vs Competitors on Licences, Prices and Support

Hardware ≠ licence ≠ cloud management ≠ support ≠ security subscription. How Cisco, HPE, Juniper, Arista, Fortinet, Palo Alto and others really charge — with real reseller prices from October 2026.

Rupesh Kumar

· 15 min read

Share

The hardware price on a quote is rarely the number that matters. Over five years, subscriptions, cloud management, support and security services usually outweigh the box itself. This part breaks down how each vendor charges, with real reseller prices captured on 8 October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Treat hardware, software licence, cloud management, support and security subscription as five separate line items — bundles hide the split.
  • Cisco Catalyst 9000 orders require a 3-, 5- or 7-year term subscription on top of the perpetual licence; renewals are the largest Cisco campus OPEX lever.
  • Meraki, Aruba Central (AOS-10 APs) and Mist APs need an active cloud licence to keep working — budget them as mandatory OPEX.

How to read prices in this series. Confirmed / Public MSRP = published by the vendor or a named reseller's list price. Reseller price = advertised by a named authorised reseller on 8 October 2026. Market estimate = my street-price range for budgeting. Enterprise quote = not publicly disclosed; large deals typically land 30–60% below list. Planning rates: USD 1 = INR 95 = EUR 0.87.

The rule for every evaluation

Rule for every evaluation: Hardware cost ≠ Software licence ≠ Cloud management ≠ Support ≠ Security subscription. Each is a separate line item, has a separate term, and is renewed (or not) independently. Many vendors bundle them on a single SKU for convenience, which hides the split.

Licensing models at a glance

ModelCiscoHPE ArubaJuniperAristaHuaweiFortinetExtremePalo AltoUbiquiti / MikroTik
Perpetual OS licenceYes (Network Ess./Adv.)Yes (AOS-CX base)Yes (Junos base)Yes (EOS)Yes (base + some feature)Yes (FortiOS)Yes (legacy) / Platform ONEYes (PAN-OS base)Yes, no subs
Term subscriptionMandatory (Catalyst/DNA 3/5/7 yr)Central Foundation/AdvancedMist subs; Flex tiersCloudVision, AGNIOptional (NCE, SD-WAN)FortiGuard bundlesPlatform ONE tiersMandatory for security valueNo
Device-basedYesYesYesYesYesYesYes (pooled)YesN/A
Port-basedSome (port tiers)By port count tierBy model tierTieredSomeNoTiered by device classNoNo
User-basedSASE/Duo/ISE endpointSSE per user, ClearPass per endpointSecure Edge per userAGNI per userLimitedFortiSASE per userZTNA per userPrisma Access per userNo
Bandwidth-basedSD-WAN tiers by throughputEdgeConnect by bandwidthSSR by bandwidthVeloCloud by bandwidthSD-WANNo (appliance)SD-WANPrisma SD-WAN / remote networkNo
Cloud mgmt licenceMeraki (mandatory)Central (mandatory for cloud)Mist (mandatory for APs)CVaaSNCE cloudFortiCloud/ FortiLANExtremeCloud IQStrata Cloud ManagerFree
Security subscriptionSecure Firewall Threat/Malware/URLGateway IDS/IPSSRX ATPPartnerUSG bundlesUTP/Enterprise bundlesPartnerCore Security bundleBasic IPS (Ubiquiti)
Support contractSmart Net Total Care / Solution SupportFoundation CareJuniper CareA-CareHuawei Co-CareFortiCare Premium/EliteExtremeWorksStandard/PremiumWarranty only (+ optional UI Care)

Cisco licensing in detail

ElementHow it worksProcurement implication
Network Stack (Network Essentials / Network Advantage)Perpetual licence tied to Catalyst 9000 hardware; Essentials covers L2/basic L3, Advantage adds full routing, VRF, MPLS/EVPN, etc.Choose tier up front; upgrading later costs more than buying Advantage at purchase for distribution/core.
Cisco Catalyst / DNA subscription (Essentials / Advantage)Per Cisco ordering guides, new Catalyst 9000 orders require a matching-tier term subscription of 3, 5 or 7 years alongside the perpetual stack licence.This is the 'hidden' recurring cost. Renewal pricing is the largest Cisco campus OPEX lever.
Catalyst Center (formerly DNA Center)Renamed in 2024. Meters per managed device; tiers Essentials, Advantage, Premier.Appliance/VM capex plus device subscriptions; size for growth.
Meraki licensingEvery Meraki device needs an active licence for dashboard management and support (co-term or per-device). MX licence tiers: Enterprise and Advanced Security (adds IDS/IPS, AMP, content filtering).If the licence lapses, devices stop passing traffic after the grace period — treat as mandatory OPEX.
Cisco Networking Subscription (unified)Newer offer (CISCO-NETWORK-SUB) letting Meraki and Catalyst devices use unified Essentials/Advantage licences (e.g., Wi-Fi 7 APs, smart switching), managed in cloud or on-prem.Simplifies hybrid estates; evaluate vs. legacy SKUs and ELA.
Security subscriptionsSecure Firewall threat/malware/URL, Umbrella/Secure Access per user, Duo per user, ISE Essentials/Advantage/Premier per endpoint.ISE and SSE are separate budgets from LAN; often 20–35% of total Cisco spend.
Smart Licensing / Smart Licensing Using PolicyLicences live in Smart Accounts/Virtual Accounts; SLUP makes many tiers unenforced but reportable.Compliance is audited at renewal/true-up; keep Smart Account hygiene.
Support (Smart Net Total Care / Solution Support)8x5xNBD to 24x7x4 hardware replacement + TAC + software updates.Typically priced as an annual % of list; renew in sync (co-term).
Enterprise Agreement (EA)Multi-year commitment across networking, security, Splunk etc.Better unit pricing but 'true-forward' penalises shrinking device counts.

Competitor licensing equivalents

VendorLicensing modelWhat is mandatory vs. optionalWatch-outs
HPE Aruba NetworkingPerpetual AOS-CX/AOS-10 + Central subscription (Foundation / Advanced) per device, 1/3/5/7/10 yrs; ClearPass perpetual or subscription per endpoint; EdgeConnect by bandwidth tier; SSE per user.AOS-10 APs require Central; switches can run without cloud.Central Advanced is meaningfully dearer than Foundation; check gateway licences.
Juniper (HPE)Junos perpetual base + Flex Standard/Advanced/Premium (term) for features; Mist Wi-Fi/Wired Assurance per device; Marvis add-on; Apstra per device; SRX security subs.Mist Wi-Fi Assurance is mandatory for Mist APs; Marvis needs Wired Assurance.Roadmap convergence with Aruba Central may change SKUs — insist on price protection.
AristaEOS perpetual with feature licences (e.g., routing scale); CloudVision as-a-Service per device; AGNI per user; VeloCloud per edge/bandwidth.CloudVision optional but expected.Fewer bundles; optics pricing matters.
HuaweiPerpetual hardware + feature licences; iMaster NCE per device; optional SnS (Software Subscription & Support).Mostly perpetual.SnS needed for upgrades; regulatory constraints outweigh price.
FortinetPerpetual FortiOS; FortiGuard bundles (ATP, UTP, Enterprise) 1/3/5 yrs; FortiSwitch/FortiAP mostly licence-free when managed by FortiGate; FortiSASE per user.Bundles are optional but needed for security value.Bundled SKUs (e.g., FG-60F-BDL-950-36) are cheaper than à la carte.
Extreme NetworksExtreme Platform ONE Networking: Standard, Advanced, Premium; Standard required for ExtremeCloud IQ management; licences pooled and portable across devices; legacy perpetual feature licences still supported on non-Universal switches.Standard tier needed for cloud management.Pooled licences reduce stranded cost.
Palo Alto NetworksAppliance + per-device subscriptions (Advanced Threat Prevention, Advanced URL, Advanced WildFire, DNS, SD-WAN) — bundled as Core Security; Prisma Access per user/site.Without subscriptions the device is a basic stateful firewall.Over 5 years subscriptions can be 3–4× the appliance; negotiate renewal caps.
Check PointAppliance + Quantum security packages (NGFW/NGTP/SandBlast); Harmony SASE per user.Packages required for threat prevention.Management server licence separate.
VersaSubscription per site/bandwidth (Secure SD-WAN, SASE tiers); often delivered via service providers.Subscription mandatory.Pricing often bundled in managed service.
VMware by BroadcomSubscription only; per physical core (16-core minimum per CPU). NSX networking ships inside VMware Cloud Foundation; advanced security (vDefend) is an additional per-core attach.Must buy VCF to get NSX.Major cost increases for many customers since 2024.
Ubiquiti / MikroTikNo recurring licences; RouterOS licence level bundled with hardware (MikroTik).None.No enterprise TAC; optional Ubiquiti UI Care (e.g., US$259 per Pro Max 48 PoE for 5 yrs).
Cato / ZscalerPure SaaS per user/site/bandwidth.Subscription mandatory.Cloud dependency; data-residency (PoP) checks.

Hardware pricing: representative SKUs

Representative, comparable SKUs. List/MSRP and reseller prices are from public listings on the dates shown; all other figures are estimates for budgeting.

Vendor / modelConfigurationThroughput / capacityPrice (USD)Price typeSource (date)
Cisco C9300-48P-E48×1G PoE+ (437W default PSU), modular uplinks, Network EssentialsStackWise-480, 256 Gbps switching$2,765 (was $2,925)Reseller price (hardware only; DNA/Catalyst sub extra)IT Bargain Center listing, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Cisco C9300-48P-ESame, UK—£5,065 ex VAT (special) / £5,331 regularReseller price (UK)Sync (wearesync.co.uk), viewed 8 Oct 2026
Cisco C9300-48P-E incl. DNA 3YSame + 3-yr DNA subscription—€4,350 incl. VATReseller price (DE marketplace)eBay.de Comstex, updated Aug 2025
Cisco Meraki MX67Branch SD-WAN security appliance~450 Mbps stateful FWNot publicly disclosed – partner quote; est. $600–$900Market estimate—
Fortinet FortiGate 60F + 3 yr UTP bundle10×GE, SPU; 3-yr 24×7 FortiCare + FortiGuard UTP (FG-60F-BDL-950-36)700 Mbps threat protection$1,847–$1,939 (MSRP $2,389–$2,508)Reseller price + MSRPSHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Palo Alto PA-4408×GE desktop NGFW3.0 Gbps FW / 2.2 Gbps threat€2,490 ex VAT (≈ $2,860)Reseller price (FR, appliance only)Optinoc product page, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Ubiquiti USW-Pro-Max-48-PoE16×2.5G + 32×1G, 720W PoE++, 4×10G SFP+L3, Etherlighting$1,299 base; $1,401 incl. tariff surchargeVendor store price (Confirmed)store.ui.com (US), viewed 8 Oct 2026
Ubiquiti USW-Pro-Max-48-PoESame, via reseller—$1,516–$1,552Reseller priceSHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026
HPE Aruba CX 6300M 48-port PoE48×1G Class 4 PoE, 4×50G SFP56~880 GbpsNot publicly disclosed; est. $4,000–$6,500 streetMarket estimate—
Juniper EX4100-48P48×1G PoE+, 4×25G~496 GbpsNot publicly disclosed; est. $3,500–$6,000 streetMarket estimate—
Arista CCS-720XP-48ZC248×mGig PoE, 6×100G~1.6 TbpsNot publicly disclosed; est. $4,000–$7,000 streetMarket estimate—
Huawei S5735-L48P4X48×1G PoE+, 4×10G~176 GbpsNot publicly disclosed; est. $1,200–$2,500 streetMarket estimate—
Extreme 5420M-48W-4YE48×1G PoE+, 4×25G~400 GbpsNot publicly disclosed; est. $2,500–$4,500 streetMarket estimate—
Wi-Fi 7 enterprise AP (Cisco CW9176I / Aruba 735 / Mist AP47 / Arista C-460)4×4 tri-band, 10GbE—Not publicly disclosed; est. $900–$1,600 streetMarket estimate—
400G DC spine (Arista 7060X5/X6, Cisco N9K-9364D, Juniper QFX5240)32–64×400G/800G12.8–51.2 TbpsEnterprise quote; est. $35,000–$90,000 streetMarket estimate—

Costs that are commonly missed

ItemTypical cost positionNotes
Optics (SFP/SFP+/SFP28/QSFP28/QSFP-DD)Vendor-branded optics 3–10× third-party; 10G SR $20–$150 (3P vs. branded), 100G $150–$1,500, 400G $600–$4,000Arista/Juniper/Dell tolerate compatible optics more readily; Cisco/HPE may restrict TAC support.
DAC/AOC cables$13–$40 (10G DAC, Ubiquiti list) up to $300+ for 400GUse DAC inside racks to save optics cost.
Redundant PSUs, fans, stacking cables+8–20% per access switchCatalyst 9300 ships with one PSU by default.
Controllers / management appliances$15k–$120k (Catalyst Center, ClearPass, FortiManager, NCE)Cloud mgmt converts this to OPEX.
Spares pool3–5% of hardware capexCritical for India/remote sites where RMA can be 2–5 days.
Rack accessories, PDUs, UPS1–3% of capex—
Logistics & import dutiesIndia: BCD 10–20% + SWS + 18% IGST (input credit available to GST-registered buyers); EU: 0% duty on most IT (ITA) + VAT 17–27%Duty classification disputes common in India (see Part 5).

Software and subscription pricing

Licence / subscriptionTermPrice (USD)Price typeAnnualisedSource (date)
Meraki MX67W Advanced Security + Enterprise support (LIC-MX67W-SEC-1YR)1 yr$523.99 (list $735.57)Reseller price$524CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Meraki MX67 Advanced Security (LIC-MX67-SEC-1YR)1 yr$359.94 (list $686.39)Reseller price$360Hummingbird Networks, viewed 8 Oct 2026
HPE Aruba Central Advanced, 1 switch (JZ535AAE)1 yr$665 (MSRP $825)Reseller + MSRP$665SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026
HPE Aruba Central Advanced, 1 switch 8–12 ports (JZ526AAE)3 yr$766 (MSRP $950)Reseller + MSRP$255SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026
HPE Networking Central Advanced, 1 switch (6400/5400 class, S0T70AAE)5 yr$4,977 (list $7,425)Reseller price$995CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026
HPE Aruba Central Advanced, 1 WLAN gateway (S0V01AAE)1 yr$2,986 (MSRP $3,706)Reseller + MSRP$2,986SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Juniper Mist Wired Assurance + Care Core, EX 48-port (SUB-EX48-1S-5Y-COR)5 yr$1,085 (list $1,363)Reseller price$217CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Juniper Mist Wired Assurance + Same Day support, EX 48-port5 yr$10,447 (list $12,074)Reseller price$2,089CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Juniper Mist Wi-Fi Assurance (per AP)per month~$10–$20 per AP/monthMarket estimate (aggregator)$120–$240Costbench, Jun 2026
Fortinet FortiGate 60F UTP bundle (HW + 3 yr)3 yr$1,847–$1,939Reseller price≈ $500 sub/yr (est.)SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Palo Alto PA-440 'Bundle Complete' (threat, URL, WildFire, GlobalProtect, SD-WAN)1 yr€2,890 ex VAT (≈ $3,320)Reseller price (FR)≈ $3,320Optinoc, viewed 8 Oct 2026
Palo Alto PA-440 3-yr TCO with bundle3 yr€11,160 ex VAT (≈ $12,830)Reseller-computed—Optinoc, viewed 8 Oct 2026
VMware Cloud Foundation (includes NSX)per core / yr~$350 per core/yr list; 16-core minimum per CPUMarket estimate (licensing advisory)—Redress Compliance, 2026
VMware vDefend (NSX distributed firewall) attachper core / yr~$120–$200 per core/yr on top of VCFMarket estimate—Redress Compliance, 2026
Cisco Catalyst/DNA Advantage (per 48-port switch)5 yrNot publicly disclosed – partner quote; est. $1,500–$3,500 streetMarket estimate$300–$700—
Cisco ISE / Aruba ClearPass / FortiNAC per endpointper yrEnterprise quote; est. $2–$15 per endpoint/yrMarket estimate——
SASE / SSE per user (Prisma Access, FortiSASE, Cisco Secure Access, Zscaler, Cato, HPE SSE)per yrEnterprise quote; est. $60–$180 per user/yr depending on features and volumeMarket estimate——

Support and maintenance

VendorStandardPremium / 24x7Software updatesHardware replacementTypical annual cost (% of HW list, est.)TAC quality notes
CiscoSNTC 8x5xNBD24x7x4, Solution Support, Success TracksRequires active contractNBD / 4-hr depots globally10–20%Deepest global TAC; large knowledge base.
HPE ArubaFoundation Care NBD24x7 / 4-hr, Aruba TACIncluded with Central / FCNBD / 4-hr; limited lifetime warranty on many CX/Instant On8–15%Good; lifetime warranty reduces HW cost.
Juniper (HPE)Juniper Care CoreSame Day / 24x7x4With Care / subsNBD / same-day8–15%Strong SP-grade JTAC; Mist bundles support into subs.
AristaA-Care NBD4-hr onsiteWith A-CareNBD / 4-hr10–15%Very well regarded; engineer-to-engineer.
HuaweiCo-Care basic24x7 premiumSnSNBD / 4-hr (country dependent)5–10%Strong in Asia/MEA; constrained in restricted markets.
FortinetFortiCare Premium (24x7)FortiCare Elite (15-min SLA)Included in bundlesNBD advance replacementIncluded in bundle (~15–25% of HW/yr incl. FortiGuard)Mixed reviews at scale; improving.
ExtremeExtremeWorks NBD24x7, ResidentEngineerIncludedNBD / 4-hr8–14%Frequently praised for in-house TAC.
Palo AltoStandardPremium (24x7), Focused ServicesRequires supportNBD / 4-hr15–20% (+ security subs)Strong security TAC.
UbiquitiWarranty (1–2 yr)UI Care (5-yr advance replacement, e.g., $259/unit for Pro Max 48 PoE)FreeAdvance replacement with UI Care~4%Community-driven; no enterprise TAC.
MikroTikWarrantyVia distributors/consultantsFreeDistributor RMA~0–3%No vendor TAC.

AMC (Annual Maintenance Contract) in India is often delivered by the system integrator on top of OEM support at 6–12% of hardware value per year, covering on-site engineers, spares and preventive maintenance; budget both OEM back-to-back support and SI AMC.

Practical advice

  • Buy the right Cisco tier up front. Upgrading from Network Essentials to Advantage later costs more than buying Advantage for distribution/core at purchase.
  • Model renewals, not just year one. Palo Alto subscriptions can reach 3–4× the appliance cost over five years; negotiate renewal caps.
  • Watch optics. Vendor-branded optics run 3–10× third-party; ask for a fixed optics price list or third-party optics support.

Next: how these line items add up over five years in Part 4 — TCO across four scenarios.

Research date: 8 October 2026. Vendor-neutral and independent — no vendor sponsorship. Prices, licences and product names change frequently; re-validate every figure with at least two authorised partners per region before purchasing. TCO figures are illustrative models built on stated assumptions, not quotations. Gartner content is cited via vendor and press announcements. Not legal, tax or investment advice.


The full series: Enterprise Network Vendors 2026

📄 Prefer one document? Download the full 44-page report (PDF)

  1. The market after HPE–Juniper and Arista–VeloCloud
  2. Products and technical capabilities compared
  3. Licensing, pricing and support decoded (you are here)
  4. Five-year TCO across four enterprise scenarios
  5. India, Europe and the US: regional realities
  6. Choosing, migrating and negotiating

Next: Part 4 — Five-year TCO across four enterprise scenarios →

  • #Licensing
  • #Vendor Analysis
  • #Cisco
  • #Procurement
  • #Pricing
  • #Support
  • #Enterprise Network Vendors 2026

Written by Rupesh Kumar

Technology transformation & project management professional, MBA (IIM Lucknow). Writing about networks, delivery, AI and technology careers.

Share

Related reading

GuideNetworking

Beyond Cisco: The Enterprise Networking Market in 2026

Two 2025 deals redrew the map: HPE now owns Juniper and Arista owns VeloCloud. Part 1 of a vendor-neutral, 19-vendor analysis — who really competes with Cisco, and in which category.

·8 min read

Let's talk

Have a technology initiative, a project, or a career question?

Tell me a little about it. I read every message and usually reply within two working days.